Skip to main content

Your shopping cart is empty

Record number of women in the running for Tax Adviser of the Year Awards

Publication date: 03 Feb 17 | Source: THE TAX INSTITUTE

Friday, 3 February 2017: The Tax Institute has announced the finalists for the 2017 Tax Adviser of the Year Awards, and this year the shortlist includes a record number of women.

The Tax Institute’s Chief Executive Officer, Noel Rowland, said, “The Tax Adviser of the Year Awards honour the best and brightest in the Australian tax profession. I’m pleased to see that, with seven women among the fifteen finalists this year, the list accurately represents the gender diversity of our profession as a whole.”

The Awards are judged by an independent expert panel that comprises leading members of the tax profession.

The four award categories recognise excellence and achievement at different experience levels.

“It’s especially encouraging for the future of our profession that three of the four finalists in the Emerging Tax Star category are women,” Mr Rowland said.

The Emerging Tax Star award is given to a developing tax professional who has demonstrated commitment and passion in building their tax career. This year’s finalists are MinterEllison’s Julie Abdalla FTI, Macquarie Group’s Sally Dole, KPMG’s Stephanie Schaefer CTA and Arnold Bloch Leibler’s Jonathan Ortner FTI.

The SME Tax Adviser of the Year award is presented to a tax adviser in the small-to-medium enterprise (SME) environment. The finalists in this category are Arnold Bloch Leibler’s Kaitilin Lowdon ATI, VdV Legal’s Julie Van der Velde CTA, Mutual Trust’s Stuart Glasgow CTA and BNR Partners’ Ian Raspin CTA.

The Corporate Tax Adviser of the Year award is given to a tax professional in the corporate environment. This year’s finalists are the ATO’s Fiona Dillon CTA, Westpac’s Michael Barbour CTA, Arnold Bloch Leibler’s Clint Harding CTA and KPMG’s Simon How CTA.

The Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year award is presented to a tax professional who has demonstrated entrepreneurial spirit, strategic business expertise and innovative ideas. The 2017 finalists in this category are EY’s Antoinette Elias CTA, KPMG’s Stephen Carpenter CTA and KPMG’s Peter Madden CTA.

The winners will be announced and presented with their awards at The Tax Institute’s National Convention Gala Dinner at the Adelaide Oval on Thursday, 16 March 2017.


For more information, please contact:

Noel Rowland, CEO, The Tax Institute: 02 8223 0011

Stephanie Conway, The Tax Institute: 02 8223 0011

The Tax Institute is Australia’s leading professional association and educator in tax. Its 12,000 members include tax agents, accountants and lawyers as well as tax practitioners in corporations, government and academia. The Tax Institute supports the tax profession through education and professional development and works to continually improve tax law and its administration.