Your shopping cart is empty

Law firms dominate in The Tax Institute’s 2019 Tax Adviser of the Year awards

Publication date: 11 Feb 19 | Source: THE TAX INSTITUTE

SYDNEY, 11 February 2019:For the first time in the history of the Tax Adviser of the Year awards, this year saw the list of finalists dominated by legal firms, a shift from the traditional dominance of accounting firms. 

In announcing the finalists’ names, The Tax Institute’s President, Tim Neilson, CTA, said, “It is inspiring and exciting to see the Tax Adviser of the Year Awards grow in stature year on year. This year we celebrate the drive and dedication of these twelve finalists from a diverse mix of ten organisations.” 

The awards are judged by an independent expert panel that comprises of leading members of the tax profession. The four award categories recognise distinction and achievement at different experience levels. 

The finalists for the Emerging Tax Star award, which is given to a developing tax professional who has demonstrated commitment and passion in building their tax career are: 

  • Alistair Haskett, ATI, from Greenwoods & Herbert Smith Freehills;
  • Amanda Kazacos from King & Wood Mallesons; and
  • Peter Scott, ATI from Arnold Bloch Liebler. 

The Gordon Cooper Memorial Scholarship will be awarded for the second time in 2019 to the winner of the Emerging Tax Star award. This full fee scholarship, which is named after a true tax community leader who was passionate about tax education, fittingly provides the recipient with enrolment into the Institute's Graduate Diploma of Applied Tax Law.

The finalists for the SME Tax Adviser of the Year award, which is presented to an experienced tax adviser working with the small-to-medium clients are: 

  • Thomas Delany, CTA from Tax Partner Pty Ltd;
  • Francis Loh, CTA from Evans + Ayers; and
  • Joanne Wynne, CTA from RSM Australia. 

The finalists for Corporate Tax Adviser of the Year award, which is given to a tax professional who advises large clients are: 

  • Adrian Varrasso, ATI from MinterEllison;
  • Vasuki Sivaloganathan, FTI from EY; and
  • Joshua Cardwell, CTA from PwC. 

The finalists for the Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year award, which is presented to the years leading tax expert and is represented by almost 100 years’ experience are: 

  • Jennifer Batrouney, QC, CTA, from List A Barristers;
  • Paul Sokolowski, CTA, from Arnold Bloch Liebler; and
  • Richard Hendriks, CTA from Greenwoods & Herbert Smith Freehills. 

The winners will be announced at The Tax Institute’s National Convention Gala Dinner at the Hotel Grand Chancellor, Hobart on Thursday, 14 March 2019. 

Find out more about this year’s finalists at 


For more information, please contact: Stephanie Conway, Media Relations: 02 8223 0011. 

The Tax Institute is the leading forum for the tax community in Australia. Our reach includes membership of 12,000 tax professionals from commerce and industry, academia, government and public practice and 40,000 Australian business leaders, government employees and students. We are committed to representing our members, shaping the future of the tax profession and continuous improvement of the tax system for the benefit of all, through the advancement of knowledge, member support and advocacy. Read more at