Your shopping cart is empty

Record number of organisations represented in list of finalists for Tax Adviser of the Year Awards

Publication date: 14 Feb 18 | Source: THE TAX INSTITUTE

Wednesday, 14 February 2018: The Tax Institute has announced the finalists for the 2017 Tax Adviser of the Year Awards, and this year the shortlist includes tax professionals from a diverse range of organisations.

In announcing the finalists’ names, The Tax Institute’s President, Tracey Rens CTA, said, “The Tax Adviser of the Year Awards honour the best and brightest in the Australian tax profession. I’m pleased to see that the 14 finalists this year represent 10 different organisations.

“This reflects the vibrancy of the tax community in Australia. It proves that excellence in tax advice is being delivered by organisations across the profession, including top-tier firms, boutique providers and government organisations.

“I look forward to meeting with all the finalists at The Tax Institute’s upcoming National Convention in Cairns on 14-16 March.”

The Awards are judged by an independent expert panel that comprises leading members of the tax profession.

The four award categories recognise distinction and achievement at different experience levels.

The Emerging Tax Star award is given to a developing tax professional who has demonstrated commitment and passion in building their tax career. This year’s finalists are EY’s Aimee Riley ATI, McCullough Robertson Lawyers’ Catherine Nufer-Barr FTI and Deloitte’s Rhys McCormick.

The SME Tax Adviser of the Year award is presented to a tax adviser in the small-to-medium enterprise (SME) environment. The finalists in this category are RSM Australia’s Cory Beat CTA, WRC Chartered Accountants’ Andrew Ward CTA and the ATO’s Anthony Bach CTA.

The Corporate Tax Adviser of the Year award is given to a tax professional who advises in the corporate sector. This year’s finalists are the ATO’s Tania Koit CTA, KPMG’s Michelle Bennett CTA, AMP Capital’s Kelly Heezen and Arnold Bloch Leibler’s Clint Harding CTA.

The Chartered Tax Adviser of the Year award is presented to a tax professional who has demonstrated entrepreneurial spirit, strategic business expertise and innovative ideas. The 2017 finalists in this category are KPMG’s Stephen Carpenter CTA, Arnold Bloch Leibler’s Paul Sokolowski CTA, KPMG’s Dana Fleming CTA and Mutual Trust’s Paul Hockridge CTA.

The winners will be announced and presented with their awards at The Tax Institute’s National Convention Gala Dinner at the Cairns Convention Centre on Thursday, 15 March 2018.


For more information, please contact:
Media Relations, The Tax Institute: 02 8223 0011

The Tax Institute is Australia’s leading professional association and educator in tax. Its 12,000 members include tax agents, accountants and lawyers as well as tax practitioners in corporations, government and academia. The Tax Institute supports the tax profession through education and professional development and works to continually improve tax law and its administration.